Writing and Word Count

People fixate on all sorts of things, be it their appearance, how much money they make or Heaven forbid you’re someone on that show “My Strange Addiction“. That’s a whole other blog post.

Lately, I’ve been fixating on my progressive word count. As most publishers accept a story that is between 80,000 to 120,000 words, I’ve been using this as a guideline for the length of my own novel. It’s amazing the excitement level once you pass a certain barrier. When I first broke 10,000 words I was astounded. Now that I’m closing in on 20,000 words, I am even more flabbergasted. I’m sure once I get up to the high 60’s, I’ll think I’m in some kind of home stretch and start doing laps around my apartment.

I guess this is something people tell you not to think about, just write, but I find it really helps me to get the story out and get to the next level.

2 thoughts on “Writing and Word Count

  1. I know what you mean. With my book, I started out thinking I would be lucky to to hit 20,000. Then I was at 30,000 and didn’t think I’d make 50,000. Then I was at 60,000 and worried it could end up too long. I finally ended at 82,000 and was elated. Good luck as your word count climbs!

Leave a Reply

