Stuck in the middle with you

So, I’ve written 32, 628 words and now I’m stuck.

Yes, I’m stuck in the middle with you
And I’m wondering what it is I should do
It’s so hard to keep this smile from my face
Losing control, yeah, I’m all over the place

Clowns to the left of me, jokers to the right
Here I am, stuck in the middle with you

Maybe I should watch Resevoir Dogs and feel a bit inspired. I have tried to map out where I want the story to go, but it’s not really working for me. I usually can ‘see’ where a story is going, much like that feeling when you know you just aced the interview and you’re getting the job, you can just see it coming, but I got nothing. (For the record I know I got nothing is incorrect and this is my attempt at humour; go with it.)

I wish it would rain soon. Oh, other semi bad news, the Library program, they are doing their Writer in Residence program on a lottery basis. I might not get a chance to sit with the author to review my work. This bums me out  big time. Sigh.

Not going to let this get me down. Going to try to keep going and maybe take a break and see what happens.

4 thoughts on “Stuck in the middle with you

  1. Keep going… I was in exactly the same place just a few weeks ago. I walked away and suddenly decided to get back to it today and low and behold everything started flowing… thankfully. It’s reassuring to know others have the same problem… reminds us that we are human.

    • Hello Mark. Thank you for the encouragement. I am lucky enough to have a great Beta reader right now who is going through my story. She just got back to me with some pointers and I think that is going to give me some fresh thoughts. I could use a ray of sunlight when my vision is so cloudy. We are most definitely human; horribly so.

  2. Yup, I’m with Mark. Don’t try to force it. Just walk away a bit, let your subconscious nibble at it a bit, and then, hopefully (fingers crossed) it’ll all pop into place. Works that way for me…Hope you get lucky with the lottery as well!

    • Thank you Millie. I think this is the best way to get my brain jogged. I’ll be sure to write about it if I am picked for the appointment. It’s too bad as it’s a 50 minute one on one. Fingers crossed indeed!

Leave a Reply

