The Silver Lining

So, here I am now at 34,500 words I finally feel the river is flowing. I introduced the main nemesis and have started the MC on her journey to fulfil her prophecy and avenge her loved ones.

As all writers are familiar with this plot chart I’m semi hesitant that I’ve pulled this ace out too soon in the story.

 

My story is in the 2. Rising Action phase. I’ve introduced the character, the setting, even provided a bit of interesting backstory that I’m already excited about turning into the next book. Clearly, it’s time to move on, but I am curious how I am going to turn the character’s anger, frustration and possible paranormal romance into another 30,000 words before the main climax.

I’m hoping that I can finish the story with a total of 100,000 words or more. I’d love this story to be so involving that you can’t put it down and sad about when it’s over. I suppose this is the fantasy of all writers.

All in all, I’m happy I’ve even come this far, I remember when I was floored by 10,000 words. I am incredibly happy with how my story is going, I must admit, at one point I was almost afraid, but now I see the silver lining.

Image by Doug Savage

I couldn’t resist. Yar!

Leave a Reply

