The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I was asked by two lovely writers to participate in this Next Bing Thing Blog hop: 1) Charmain Zimmerman Brackett and 2) Monica G. Edwards. Both, such lovely ladies, I figured why not? Apparently this whole thing originated from the She Writes website.

Here’s how it works….

Rules of The Next Big Thing

Use this format for your post
. Include an introduction to your interview post and a link to the person who tagged you for participation.
 Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress). Include some pictures if possible.
Tag five other writers/bloggers by sending them an email and then add their links to the end of your interview post.Their answers should go up the week after.

Okay, now that we have all the housekeeping out of the way – here goes!


Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing:


1. What is the working title of your book?
A Raven’s Touch

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?
I had a dream about the opening sequence and I woke up and started writing. The rest of the story just came to me.

3. What genre does your book fall under?
Paranormal fiction.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I haven’t even thought this far. My main character Justice, could be played by Lily Collins and her “love interest” could easily be played by Jordan Nichols.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
A Raven’s Touch is about a teenage girl who discovers her Heaven sent powers are needed by a vampire to break his curse.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Self published for sure. The more I read about publishing companies, the more I realize that I can do this on my own. I have zero interest in having worked so very hard on a labour of love only to receive a pittance for such dedication. I also am a bit of a control freak and wish to be in charge of the direction my book takes. I can’t imagine someone telling me to change a part of the story to make it more market-able. No thank you.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
I’ll tell you when I get there. Still working on it. So far, I’ve managed 35,500 words since December 2011, but I got serious around May 2012. I think I’ve written about 20,000 words in the past two months. Most days I can only write about an hour a day, if that, some days it’s only 30 minutes. I hope I can finish this Magnum Opus before 2014.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Hard to say, as I haven’t seen a book as such on the market. I have combined many different fantasy type of characters. My main character is an Heavenly Halfling, her friend is a witch and the friend’s boyfriend is an elf. Plus the MC has a potential love interest who is a vampire. If there is such a book that you know of, please, let me know.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?
Other than my dream and my gut telling me that I have to get this story out – nothing really.

10. 
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
My female characters aren’t weak. They have emotions they do express, but they’re not going to let the world get the best of them. Everyone can relate to the characters, they’re smart, funny, and real. None of this I live in a perfect world and my hair is always in place. I’m combining every genre of fiction/fantasy that I enjoy. Some of the fighting scenes will be manga style, as I enjoy that kind of thing, and I hope that my readers will be well rounded to enjoy all the aspects I do too.

MORE rules:

Your blog post would need to be up between the 22 Oct – 26 Oct . If you are on She Writes you put the post up there too. Your Blog post will be labelled:
 The Next Big Thing Blog Tag.

Here are the very cool authors I’m tagging. As I can’t be bothered to pay attention to rules I’m adding ONE extra person. Please check out their fun blogs!

Benjamin Wallace
Anne Michaud
Steven Montano
Lynn Myshe Joseph
Troy Blackford
Rhonda Parrish

4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop | Filling Spaces

  2. Pingback: Blood Skies: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

