Characters out of nowhere

Writing by the seat of my pants is more or less my style. I usually don’t sit there and develop characters, they just seem to come out of nowhere.

For example, I added a good looking Sheriff who has to come visit my MC. In my head, I’m thinking, “who are you people?!” Who are these characters that just pop up? I never had this in mind when writing, it just happened and now it fits right in with the rest of the story.

Here I was slightly worrying, how do I add more characters:? The plot lends itself to bringing in characters, taking them away and the flow of everything seems to be smooth. I’m quite happy with how things are turning out. Amazing how things fall into place and I think that’s the point of writing, just write, don’t think about it.

The worst thing you can do is over analyse, which I am totally guilty of doing, it’s paralysing in terms of idea flow.

I’m going to keep truckin’ on and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

