Ahoy-hoy, Scrivener!

“Ahoy-hoy? No, you have the wrong number. This is 5246. I suspect you need more practice working your telephone machine…not at all…ahoy.” — Mr. Burns, “Homer The Smithers”

Click on the blue link to hear Mr. Burns say “Ahoy-hoy?”

I miss when the Simpsons were actually good. Sigh. Anyway, here’s what I really want to write about, I just couldn’t resist the Mr. Burns reference.

Scrivener! I am incredibly excited about this software, it’s fantastic, I have never felt so incredibly organized with my writing. You can edit multiple documents, there’s a cork board feature, which is replacing my storyboard-ing, I love the index cards PLUS all my research is in one place. I am not being paid by this company, I just am excited to find software that is working for me and I hope it might help others.

Other amazing features, when done your work, you can compile and export for ebooks or Kindle. You can share your work via iBooks or Amazon, or for reading on any e-reader. Yay!

Here’s the introduction video that made me fall in love:

I have a mac, so this is what I use, but it is available for Windows as well. I don’t know how often I’m going to come up for air now that I have this. I think the more I write, the more I want to hang out with my characters and really flush them out.

I currently am at 38,760 and I want to have 50,000 for the end of the month. I am on my own deadline. Let’s see what happens.

2 thoughts on “Ahoy-hoy, Scrivener!

  1. Hi, I’ve looked at using Scrivener previously but it all looks a little like TOO much is going on, how are you getting on with it?

    • I’m rather enjoying it. I like the idea of writing in chunks as to break up my chapters, it helps me focus on each ‘scene’ as you will. The thing about Scrivener, is you can use as much or as little of it as you wish. You don’t have to use all the cork board cards, or the other side notes, but I think it helps having a section for research that’s accessible. I just use the basic parts and when I’m feeling extra fancy I take on the cork board feature. I think I will use it exclusively. Mind you, if I happen to write something on a cocktail napkin, I will transcribe it into my main text, but you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

