50,197 words, but who’s counting?

I did it! I have been waiting for this to happen and it finally did. I broke 50K and I am a third of the way to my goal.

I figure there will be words shed, oh yes, there will be blood. By the time I write my little heart out and then go back to slash through everything I’ll have 120,000 total. I estimate a good 30,000 words will be brutally slashed, burned, and cut with vengeance.

Apparently the writer in residence told me I over write, but I guess that goes hand in hand with wanting to get everything out. Either way, I’d rather have too much than too little, so that’s where good editing comes in place.

My hope is that I find a great editor that won’t charge an arm and a leg, but I know I get what I pay for, so let’s see what miracle happens.

For now, I’m going to celebrate and be happy for this accomplishment that I have been hoping for.

Here’s to celebrating minor victories that in my head are a big one.

8 thoughts on “50,197 words, but who’s counting?

  1. That’s some way to celebrate!! Congratulations. I always write more than I need, that way, when you cut it down, you are always left with a more concentrated text – so the reader can read without a distracting sense that the text is flabby.

    • Thank you! I love Beyonce, the girl knows how to move and make a statement. I know what you mean. I do find that it’s best to have more and that way you can make a decision in terms of where the story is going easier if you can see an overview and the direction you’re going.

Leave a Reply

