The Whiteboard is your friend

Right now I’m at my midway point, or at least I think I am, I hope I am. 53,642 words to date and I’ve taken it upon myself to chart everything on a white board. Yes, I’ve written each scene line by line summarizing the plot. I had to write in a compact manner. I’d take a picture, but I’m sure it wouldn’t make sense anyway. I do find this exercise incredibly good for an overview of the story and it’s made me realize I have to do character profiles just to keep everything straight. What do I mean by character profiles you ask?

Something like this:

Screen Shot 2012-12-01 at 6.41.35 PM

I also include: powers, weaknesses, age, eye/hair colour and height. This gives me an overall sense of my characters and if I keep referring back to my board I can keep them in focus.

The whiteboard is your friend. I cannot count how many times I’ve used my white board for story development, character profiles, and various doodles.

Let’s face it, doodling is an essential part of story writing.

Everyone has their own way of creating characters and this is part of what I do.

4 thoughts on “The Whiteboard is your friend

  1. *Squeal!* Sailor Moon!

    I create character profiles as well, and often tailor them to each story. They are especially useful for stories that you know are going to be longer, because you can keep track of details that might otherwise get lost in the wash.

    • Hi Whitney! Glad I made you smile. I am a hugs Sailor Moon fan. I agree, it’s vital to keep details straight, and this method does help to give you an overall sense of characters. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Detailed character profiles are important to me. I even include their astrological sign and a photo of what I think they look like! As the writing progresses, I add details and backstory to their profiles. I use scrivener so I often open one pane with the character profile that I need while I write. By the time the novel is done, I feel like they are real.

    • Hi Marianne, I can appreciate that amount of detail. I also use Scrivener, but I am incredibly visual, so the whiteboard serves as a big reminder of where I’m going with each character. Thanks for sharing! It’s great to learn about other’s writing process.

Leave a Reply

