I Liebster you too

Imagine that – I won an award!

I received this nomination from the very kind Nat Russo. Check out his blog and twitter, he’s worth the follow.So, what is the hubbub about?
A Liebster Award is a nod from fellow bloggers that they like something you’re doing. It’s also a way of spreading the word about up and coming blogs and bloggers.

Here’s how it works – the rules.

Liebster Award Rules

  1. Post the award image on your blog. There are several varieties. You can use the one from this post as well.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions asked by the person/people who nominated you.
  4. Make up 11 questions for those to be nominated.
  5. Nominate 11 people to receive the award. They should have fewer than 200 followers on their blog.
  6. If you’re nominated, your name and/or link will appear at the bottom of this post. Just follow the same format and voilà! you’re a recipient.
11 Random facts:

  1. Linda is actually not my real name. I truly dislike the name Linda. There really is a Linda Bloodsworth. She is a successful television writer from the 90s of whom I have great admiration for. I chose to go with Bloodworth – minus the ‘s’ because a)  it’s a kick ass name and b) the extra letter wouldn’t fit for a Twitter handle, so I dropped the ‘s’.
  2. I’ve never owned a dog, I’ve played with them, but I would very much like to adopt one. I hope to save one from being put down.
  3. I wrote my first novel when I was 6 years old. It was a story about a princess and an unicorn who develop a secret friendship. Very complex dialogue.
  4. Every single character in my work in progress is someone I know in real life. Some of the characters I’ve changed their sex to make the story plausible, but it makes me giggle knowing that they’re real life people who will never recognize themselves.
  5. I’m lactose intolerant and my main character also doesn’t drink milk.
  6. I once was stung by a jellyfish when I was 8 during a family trip in the US. It felt like ground glass smashed into my hand. Apparently, the solution is meat tenderizing powder. When my mother discovered this happened to me, a lady next to us suggested we go to the grocery store and find the powder. When we were at the store the cashier saw us and pointed to isle 5. It really worked!
  7. My second toe is bigger than my first and I have heard two theories: 1) Royalty in Italy and 2) I’m a witch. Frankly, I’d rather go with the second option, why have money when you can do magic?
  8. As a child I hiked up a hill so steep that I couldn’t turn around and had to continue climbing to the top then turn around and come down on my bum. I cried the whole way down. There was nothing to hold onto, just these little weeds that could have been pulled out so easily, I truly thought I was going to die and crack my head open.
  9. I have zero interest in coffee even though I worked in a coffee chain for 3 years during college. To this day I honestly hate it.
  10. I am allergic to kiwi, I don’t really like them anyway, so there take that evil kiwi!
  11. I have the same birthday as Sailormoon and bloodtype. Am I really a secret senshi in disguise? I hope so.
11 Questions from Nat:
1. If you could live in one of your story worlds, where would it be and why?

I wouldn’t mind living in Acana, it’s pretty much a utopia for fantasy characters; elves, trolls, dragons and a few nasties thrown in for good measure. How boring would it be if it was always happy?

2. Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Dark chocolate, see Fact #5.

3. After the first draft is complete, do you take a systematic approach to revision, or just do a read-through and fix what needs fixing? If systematic, describe your system.

I wish I was systematic. I basically go over everything and fix the glaring syntax errors that I can’t believe I made in the first place. After that, I get hard on myself and really think, what the hell am I doing? By the third read I have most likely gone to my white board and started drafting another idea that I ‘just’ have to add or the whole thing won’t work.

4. Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, or Twix?

Neither, both contain milk products.

5. Do you prefer to write happy endings or not-so-happy endings? Why?

I do enjoy a not-so-happy ending, but in my heart (the sappy one that I try to hide all the time), I gush over a happy ending. So many things are unfair in the world, the least I can do is try to make endings happy.

6. Dogs or cats? And yes, there is a correct answer! Explain why you have the correct answer 🙂

The correct answer is both. They each have such amazing characteristics, it’s impossible to favour one over the other, it’s like saying you have a favourite child. As true as that may be to some people, I don’t know, I’m not a parent; favouring one animal over the other can’t be done. Who doesn’t enjoy the happiness of a bounding dog chasing a toy or the purr and knead of a cat showing affection?

7. Do you have a method for approaching plots? Do you outline in advance, or simply free write and see where the story takes you?

No, I’m a fly by the seat of my pants writer. I tried, I honestly tried, but no matter how I write out a plot and say I’m going to stick to it something else comes up. Most often, I find that these kind of tools really don’t help me whatsoever. I prefer the free method, see what happens, what song touches me at a particular moment that takes me to another place.

8. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what kind?

I swear I didn’t even see this question coming before I answered the one above. Yes, I often listen to music and it’s just as varied as my writing. Radiohead, Chopin, various dub step artists, it’s all a feel that I’m going for and the music helps me channel things.

9. Who was the headlining act at the last concert you attended? What do you like about them?

The Wooden Sky. I like their melancholy sound.

10. If you could go back into the past and tell your younger self a single thing, what would it be and why?

Don’t give up. Yes, you’re going to be mocked, ridiculed, kicked, and then kicked again, but it will be worth it. Going through all the awful things made me a much stronger person, stronger than I ever imagined and I’m proud of myself for that.

11. If you could step into the future and tell your future self a single thing, what would it be and why?

I love you just the way you are. I believe in self affirmation. Positive reinforcement makes for positive actions.

11 Questions for the nominated:
1. How old were you when you realized writing was your calling?
2. What’s your writing style? Meticulous or pant seater?
3. What’s your favourite piece you’ve written?
4. Do you have a favourite pen/writing instrument?
5. How do you overcome writer’s block?
6. Do you write with a word count goal in mind? What’s your longest word count?
7. Where do you write?
8. Who are your beta readers?
9. Do you have stories you haven’t finished?
10. How often do you write?
11. Favourite character?

And the nominees are:

These are all fantastic people of whom I enjoy. Thanks for reading this long blog post!
One thought on “I Liebster you too

  1. Pingback: The Peasants Revolt Monday Musings: I need an equilibrium!

Leave a Reply

