Editing: Okay, I’m doing it

I’ve taken some time before diving head first back into my WIP and I think that makes a big difference in terms of the decisions I’m making. For one, I’ve deleted a huge scene because one of my Betas told me this is unrealistic and not how schools handle a crisis.

What the hell do I know about high school? I haven’t been in over 10 years. When I graduated, in 1998, cool bands like Rilo Kiley, The Strokes, Raised by Swans, Doves were just forming. I suppose with my hatred of high school it’s no wonder that my main character is attacked in her school. One comment from a Beta suggested that the fight is unnatural in the school and I am going to have to re-work this as I can understand what he means. In addition to this change, I am going to re-write quite a few scenes that have been deemed awkward.

It really amazes me that I even wrote some of this stuff, but hey, it’s all a learning experience. I could be hard on myself, but why should I? I still think I’m fantastic and have a bright future ahead. I don’t want to be all woe is me. Sure, I can take time to have a mini pity party, which I did and after that I can’t waste time on that. I mean, I’m no Kanye, but I know I have some talent lurking just waiting for me to carve it out.

I can see why some writers are called ‘hacks’, when done wrong poor writers can destroy a story to pieces. I have to let go of that fear, that insecurity that’s holding me back, and know I am the only one standing in my way. I have waiting a long time to get my act together and I cannot let the fear of failure slow me down. There goes the fear is a fitting song and one I listen to often. Too bad no one ever sings about ‘green eyes’, it’s always the brown eyes damn it.

Okay, there are a few green eyed girl songs, but seriously, not enough!

Green Eyed lady – Sugarloaf
Green Eyes – Erykah-Aquellos Ojos Verdes
Paul Hobbs – Pretty Green Eyes
Green Eyes – dirigent and Mandika
Dolly Parton – Green Eyed Boy
Green Eyes (RPM08 Final) – Crunchy Steve
Alan Jackson – I’ll Go on Loving You
Cracker – Low
Green Eyes – Cold Play

Leave a Reply

