104,514 and counting

Okay, so I’m changing my story up and pushing forward events to make things more exciting. It feels like I’m doing a patchwork quilt over here trying to re-jig things after making such a change. After a few weeks, I think I’ve smoothed over the big chunks and now I’m going after a few more loose ends.

Hopefully, in another six months I can finally give my story back to the betas for round two. Who knew writing would take so damn long?

I can recall being 12 years old and thinking, I should have written my first book by now because Gordon Korman already beaten me to the punch and wrote his first book by then. I adored This Can’t be Happening at Macdonald Hall. At such a young age I already felt like I had failed at writing.

When I was 14 I started writing the original story my now WIP is based on. It took me four years to write. Every summer I worked on it and finally after years of struggling I finally had something. Now, I’m sure, it’s a horrible cringe worthy disaster of a story, but that’s what being a teenager is all about. I don’t believe I have a copy of the original, frankly, I don’t want to see it.

Now, at 34, I’m a stronger writer and I have the life experience that lacked in my stories. Being so close to a dream and going through this editing is a tease, but I know it will be a struggle well worth it when this is all said and done.

After the betas, and I putz around with it yet again, I think I’ll hand it over to my editor and pray to the gods that she has nice things to say.

It’s truly never over, is it?

4 thoughts on “104,514 and counting

  1. I can relate to some of what you say in this psot. Although I liked to write stories as a child I didn’t really take it all that seriously until I was about 14. Now I’m 22 and although I’ve finished my fair share of short stories I haven’t actually yet managed to write a full length novel yet and it gets me down a bit when you read about all these writers who had stuff published when they were still at school. The ideas are in my head (and working their way onto paper) so I’m hoping one day I’ll get there.

    Good luck with your writing journey, i really do enjoy reading it and I’m finding it insightful.

    • Thank you for your comment! I’m glad I’m not alone. It is a bit frustrating, but I have to realize that everyone is different and things happen at their own pace. It’s hard not to compare yourself to others, but hey, you’re the only you out there, so might as well be the best one you can. It’s taken me this long to follow my dream, I hope what you want happens for you. 😉

  2. The one thing that shines bright is your determination and belief, which will keep you well for your writing journey. Never stop believing

Leave a Reply

