I can do it.

 

 

2014 has to be the year. I can’t dilly dally any longer. I have to get this puppy up and out and into the wild blue yonder. The holidays come and go, mainly taking up time that I could be writing, but that’s family obligation for you. All I can think about is what my characters are doing. Do I need to emphasize this scene more, do I need to add this sentiment, do I need to make them more human?

Right now I’m using Storyist as Scrivener hasn’t come up with an iMac/iPad friendly app. I write on the go and need to have this feature.

My latest word count:
Screen Shot 2013-12-28 at 1.48.30 PM

I keep going over the scene where my main characters first meet. I have to make this the best I can. Is this how they’d react? Is this realistic? Is this stupid? Ugh. Second guessing, going around in circles. I think I’ve done all I can right now, but I’m sure I’ll come back to that. The frustrations of fear; fear that I don’t do my characters justice and that others will find my writing to be a massive joke. No one wants to be the butt of jokes, or SNL skits, or a meme. I can’t stand the idea of people gathered in an online forum poking and proding my story, making fun of it and being jerks in general.

Yes, I know I have to grow a thick skin and I can’t care, but I do want to make my story better even the harshest critiques have some truth in them. I don’t want to be that person who can’t stand up to it. I just want it done in a humane way. I’ve read horror stories of people leaving 1 star reviews on Goodreads and being bullies to authors. I don’t think right now I am in the state to handle that. Sigh.

This is a process and I must keep going. 2014 – this is it!

2 thoughts on “I can do it.

  1. I know how you feel. Rewrote my first chapter so many times. I critique and critique myself. No one is a crueler critic than the author. In the end, I go back to my original motive for writing – I just wanted to know that I had one novel in me. If I make some people happy through reading it, that would be wonderful. It takes courage to put it out there, but in the end, you do it for yourself. It will never be perfect. There will always be something you can change. But if you do your best, run it by some beta readers who really have no connection to you, adapt where you think it’s needed, and release it, so what if someone gives a bad review. It’s say to throw stones. Far harder to build something worthwhile. Set a deadline to finish it and stick to it. After two years, on and off, I set a deadline and that did the trick. Let me know if you’d like feedback on it. Good luck!

    • Ah! Thank you Jennifer. I sincerely appreciate your comments. I think you’re absolutely right. I am going to give myself eight more months to get this massive book in editor format. Hopefully I will be able to get it Beta ready in six months. It’s a massive story right now, 111,673 words, so I am really hoping my betas will stick with me on this. When I am ready to reach out I will drop you a line. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

