I just wanna be your lover

As I write more my characters really grow on me and I wish I could hang out with them. I want to be in their world as much as I want them in mine. Right now I’m at the point where the characters are trying to enjoy their last night on earth before the journey to Hell begins. It’s a strange place to be. Sure makes one introspective in terms of what’s important, what’s real, and what you can leave behind.

One thing that I value is love. I drink it down and let it sit in my stomach. Sweet, sweet nectar of the gods. How to write characters that are afraid, but not desperate? How to convey that things are going to be hard, but not terrify them for the long hard road ahead? I want my MC to know she has to be strong and has to stand up to her fears. She is worthy, she can do this, she will fulfill the prophesy and come out on top despite the odds.

All she has to do is survive Hell and face the Devil. Sure, piece of cake. At least she has love. The love of her friends, the love of her extended family, and the supportive love of her boyfriend.

She can do this and she will. Just like the challenges we face in real life you have to start somewhere and take that first step. Simply a matter of starting that is sometimes the hardest part.

House of Cards – Radiohead

I don’t wanna be your friend
I just wanna be your lover
No matter how it ends
No matter how it starts

Forget about your house of cards
And I’ll do mine
Forget about your house of cards
And I’ll do mine

And fall off the table, get swept under

Denial, denial

The infrastructure will collapse
Voltage spikes
Throw your keys in the bowl
Kiss your husband goodnight

Forget about your house of cards
And I’ll do mine
Forget about your house of cards
And I’ll do mine

Fall off the table, get swept under

Denial, denial
Denial, denial

Your ears should be burning
Denial, denial
Your ears should be burning

Read more: Radiohead – House Of Cards Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

