Word count too long? Boohoo for you

The past three weeks have been interesting. I keep hearing my word count is too long. Sure, I could trim and tighten up, and I do intend on making the story a lean machine.

What I am somewhat annoyed with is the fact that people don’t allow for creativity and someone doing things differently.

The Stand, Stephen King – 464,000 words.
War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy – 560,000 words.
Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte – 108,000 words
The Kitchen God’s Wife, Amy Tan – 159,276 words
Life on The Mississippi, Mark Twain – 127,776 words

Yes, I know these are not NA paranormal, but I don’t really care. I really refuse to be typecast in a box. My story goes from paranormal, to high fantasy, there’s a dragon for Pete’s sake. This isn’t an average paranormal story, there are a few twists, and what a novel idea – something original.

I want people to have some faith in the fact that some people will be different and it will be okay.

Here are the reasons people have given me for my story being completely wrong for being so long:

1. You’re just a new writer, no one is going to read such a long story for a debut novel, who do you think you’re fooling?
Well, I’m not fooling anyone, I hope I am entertaining people. I also think it’s rather limiting to tell someone what they should and should not do. I have no business telling a painter that he’s doing it wrong, what business does anyone else have telling me I’m doing something ‘wrong’? Wrong why? Wrong because I don’t fit into the norm?


2. Your story must be full of filler and pointless words.

Have you read my story? No? Then shut up.

3. NA has no business being longer than 85,000
Well, that’s just sad. Thanks for limiting people’s dreams.

I just had to get that off my chest. I don’t believe I have any business telling people what to do and I certainly don’t wish to be told in a non-constructive manner either.

Where would we be if we didn’t have dreamers, or doers, or anyone who dared to be different? No where.

Sure, I know I will be judged for everything, but I hope judgement is reserved until the book is actually out.

 

4 thoughts on “Word count too long? Boohoo for you

  1. The length of a book, be it long or short, doesn’t put me off. If it’s a long book I just delay reading it unril I know I have enough time to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

