Hip Hop Hurray Blog Hop “My Writing Process Blog Tour”

So, here we are at this Blog Hop called “My Writing Process Blog Tour”

Author Jennifer Ammoscato asked me to contribute to this interview. Jennifer can be found at these links and enjoys being stalked. Wait, nice stalking, is that a thing?
Twitter: @jenniferammoscato
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorJenniferAmmoscato
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/jenammoscato

So how does this work?

The blog tour is simple. I post one week and then the people I tag will post a week later and do the same on their blog.

1. Thank you to Jennifer Ammoscato for inviting me.

2. The second part is to answer these 4 questions:

A) What am I working on?
I am currently working on my NA paranormal story, a first novel called A Raven’s Touch. I hope that you, dear reader, know this is my life long dream. The story is about Justice St. Michaels who find out her Heaven sent powers are needed by Darien, a vampire, to escape the binds of his ex-Demon girlfriend Daria. Justice finds out Daria is the exact demon she has to kill to fulfill the prophecy. Not alone, Justice’s friends Moira and Tom come along for the ride. It’s a story full of paranormal powers/creatures and a dragon to top it all off.

B) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
I believe my work is different because I have a whole blend of characters ranging from: a half angle, vampire, witch, elf, demon, and a dragon for good. My story starts off with a high school background, then morphs into the paranormal and finally into a fantasy realm right into Hell.

C) Why do I write what I do?
I have a story to tell and it has to come out. I started writing the original version of this story when I was 14…that’s quite a long time ago, hate to think that’s 21 years. Sigh. Sure, after a few years things change and I grew up. I’m also writing the story that I want to read. I haven’t read anything like it.

Elements like: friendship, adventure, love, and honour mean something to me. Perhaps I sound like I should be writing a samurai story, but mainly that’s the Sailormoon influence talking I suppose.

D) How does your writing process work?
If you call sitting down and writing a process that’s pretty much it. Well, I do listen to music, so I suppose that’s something. I never plan out characters, or a plot, or anything for that matter. I just can’t be bothered. The characters come when they do and I don’t even know what they’re going to say until the moment they pop into my mind. I never look at my work and say, “Hm…, I need a scene to break up there, I’ll throw this in, that’ll work.”

My brain doesn’t really work that way. It’s odd because in my daily life I am methodical. I plan out everything to perhaps an annoying level (mainly at work, not in my social life, I’m semi lazy about that), and yet, in my writing I cannot for the life of me chart things out.

I actually tried once, but that was somewhat miserable and sad. I do like to white board ideas, but then I never go through with things. It’s all a matter of sitting down at they keyboard and letting it flow.

So here’s the part where I introduce the three authors who are on next week and include their short bios, photos and blog links for them. They’re going to post on June 14, 2014 with their answers.

Author #1:
Kelley Grealis
Author of The Descendant Vampire Series

KelleyWhat do most people do when they go through a midlife crisis – buy a sports car or get a makeover?  Not Kelley Grealis. Her career midlife crisis reignited her passion for creative writing.A worker-bee by day, writer by night, Kelley is the author of The Descendant Vampire Series.  When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with her husband and their two cats, riding her Harley, enjoying what few days of sunshine there are in Cleveland, and dreaming up the next story she wants to tell.  Kelley is a graduate of both Baldwin Wallace College and Cleveland State University.

Connect with Kelley:

Website:  http://www.kelleygrealis.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KelleyGrealis
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/KelleyGrealis
Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6436838.Kelley_Grealis
Blog:  http://www.myarttoinspire.com/kelleygrealisblogs
Independent Author Network:  http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/kelley-grealis.html

Buy Links

Amazon US:  http://www.amazon.com/Kelley-Grealis/e/B008I3D9OA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1356561354&sr=8-1
Amazon UK:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Descendant-ebook/dp/B008GET9KE/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1359592904&sr=1-5
Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/KelleyGrealis
B+N:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-descendant-kelley-grealis/1111525937?ean=9780615612362
Universal Amazon Link:  viewBook.at/B008GET9KE

 

Author #2
Charmain Zimmerman Brackett
Author of the Key Guardian Journal Series

Charmain

Charmain Zimmerman Brackett grew up in a picturesque Southern neighborhood filled with front porches and retirees. Laura Ingalls Wilder, Nancy Drew and Mina Harker were some of her closest companions in her childhood and teenage years. In college, her love of literature, language and writing led her to pursue a degree in English. She has spent the past 26 years writing for several newspapers and magazines in the Augusta, Ga. area. In 2008, a story in a series she wrote on returning wounded warriors received second place at the Department of the Army level in the Keith L. Ware journalism competition. She has written three young adult novels, The Key of Elyon, Elyon’s Cipher and Elyon’s Light., which are part of the Key Guardian Journal series. Her debut novel, The Key of Elyon, received the 2014 Yerby Award for Fiction. Her fourth novel, Fixed In The Tempest, is inspirational contemporary fiction. She’s currently working on a children’s book about her circus family history and a fourth novel in her Key Guardian Journal series.

Buy links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Charmain+Zimmerman+Brackett
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Key-Elyon-Guardian-Journals-ebook/dp/B00885JIXO/ref=sr_1_sc_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1400514352&sr=8-2-spell&keywords=charmainbrackett

And because I couldn’t say no, here is Author #3
Sydnie Beaupré
Author of The Dark One, Impure, Grit, and Only The Dead

Sydnie Beaupré lives in her own imagination; a post-apocalyptic, zombie-inhabited world, where magical creatures and supernatural occurrences are simply the mundane. Outside of that, Sydnie can be found in Montreal, Quebec where she was born and raised. When she’s not writing you can find her reading, playing the violin, singing, or spending time with her amazing friends and crazy family.

 

 

 

One thought on “Hip Hop Hurray Blog Hop “My Writing Process Blog Tour”

Leave a Reply

