Beta Readers – The Aftermath

When you’re close to a project you can’t see what’s required, so it’s important to ask for thoughts, and suggestions. I sent off my story to a few beta readers and the information I received I never would have thought of on my own. I feel like I have a lot to re-write.

I have to remind myself that I can do this.

Changes to be made:

1. Combine two characters into one. Goodbye Veronica.
2. Cut out big ass boring scenes and somehow make the falling in love bits happen naturally?
3. Rename principal thanks to a contest from my Author Page
4. Think of new name for main bad girl Daria. People have commented on Dairen and Daria being too similar and confusing. I’m thinking Seliki? Kind of reminds me of Khaleesi, which I like very much.

Overall, I need to ‘show, not tell’. Isn’t this the most frustrating part about being a writer? Honestly. Sometimes I wish I could write screenplays where all I write is dialogue.

Anyway – the fight isn’t over yet! SO much to do and I have no idea if I am going to make it for this year.

7 thoughts on “Beta Readers – The Aftermath

  1. My beta readers provided me with a wealth of insight – and while they had a lot of crossover on similar ideas, they each brought their own insights forth from the reading. Very informative. But, ah, now for the rewrite. The hard work! Thanks for the follow!

    • You’re very welcome! I know what you mean. I feel like my story has become deconstructed and now I have to pick up the pieces. Ah well indeed. At least you’re not alone in the process. 🙂

      • yes – esp since writing depends on solitude, yet can be such an isolating process – beta readers, accountability and critique partners provide that communal aspect to an otherwise solitary practice.

Leave a Reply

