Writer Survey Results

A little while back I asked a bunch of questions and I finally compiled everything. I really enjoyed learning more about what people want and how they want to be catered to. Rather insightful and interesting.

UPDATE:

Just so you know who was asked? 

– 50 people
– A mixture of authors/bloggers/readers. 

I am not a professional researcher. I wish this was my day job. I did this out of the goodness of my heart to help people.

Enjoy!

Chart How can a writer get your attention?

What old ways of marketing do you think have been pushed aside that could be revisited?

Do you really read author interviews?

How often do read reviews of books you're thinking of buying?

How to get to readers who are not online?

Must use social media

Overused Marketing Methods

Readers, what online sites do you go to for book info?

Readers, where do you buy most of your books from?

What marketing turns you off?

Do you pay attention to good reviews or to the negative reviews when book buying?

How affective are online book groups?

What is the most effective way of marketing that has worked for you?

How can an author stand out?

As a reader do you follow book tours?

Do you prefer to follow writers that have more than one book out?

What is your experience with book trailers?

Feel free to follow me on my links:
Facebook Author Page
Twitter
Booktropolous Social

Enjoy!

37 thoughts on “Writer Survey Results

  1. Love what you’ve done with this survey! So insightful and helpful, like a temperature gauge for authors and our efforts. Thanks for taking the time to share!

  2. Love what you’ve done with this survey! Such great information, like a temperature gauge for authors and our efforts. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Writer Survey Results | From a blank page to happily ever after

  4. Reblogged this on Raven's Nest and commented:
    Reaching readers is crucial to our business success (creative success might be another story). These results confirm most of my suspicions about marketing, though I would love to know what the sample size was.

    Read on, writers. This is worth your time.

  5. This is great information. Thanks for putting it together and sharing it. Maybe I missed this bit of info, but how many participants were there? Once again, thanks.

  6. This is great, Linda! Good information here, and it makes me feel good about most of my marketing decisions. If only I could afford to do more in-person events! 🙂

  7. Linda, this collection of info is just fantastic. Thanks for sharing. It confirms many of my suspicions and makes it easier to hone in on a few methods and make them work for you. Good stuff, lady.

  8. This is a great collection of information. Bookmarked for further introspective reading, and shared to my writing group. One thing I always tell my students: I love technology, but just because you can doesn’t mean you should. In that vein, it’s good to know where readers go, what they think, and how they experience ALL the stuffs authors create today!

  9. Clipped to Evernote. Thank you for the time and trouble you put into this and for the sharing of it. Great stuff.

  10. First off, thank you for taking the time and effort to crunch all that data! The graphs really tell the story. As someone that is close to finishing her first book, I find this extremely helpful! I’m sharing this with all my writing buddies.

  11. Pingback: Of Note (June 24th, 2014) | Chris Weston

  12. Neat but I wish the sidebar information was a little bigger as some of the category titles were cut off (I’m reading this on a laptop). Good idea, but I would have liked to have seen demographics of age ranges and genders at the very least. Middle-aged women, for example, are generally more likely to be on Facebook (and Pinterest) and may see those as more effective than Twitter but that may be more of a function of where they hang out versus what’s truly effective.

    • Yeah, I only noticed the cut off parts after I published it.

      This was done as one question that snowballed. I’m not a professional, I did this of my own spare time (which I rarely have), and I figured it wasn’t bad. In retrospect, yes, things could have been done better. I had to plead for people to answer, not everyone is so happy to do a long survey for free. It also tool me 20 hours to compile. If you’re able to do a better job, please, I’d like to see it.

Leave a Reply

