And the sky was made of amethyst

Growing up in the 90’s I loved the Grunge movement. I wore so much plaid it was obnoxious. The day I stopped wearing baggy jeans guys actually asked me if I lost 10lbs. I didn’t want them to see my body, as a teenager, I was so self conscious. I just didn’t want to be noticed. I listened to angry rock and one of my heroes was Courtney Love. I started wearing plastic barrettes in my hair to school and rocking the tie WAY before Avril. I believe she was in elementary school at that point.

Anyway, nothing understood me like my music did. The crescendo of the drums, the wah wah of the guitars, the beat of the bass, all of it in tune with my heartbeat. I lived for music, concerts were the be all end all and life wouldn’t go on if I didn’t attend.

The intensity of life, the passion of it all, the unknown was scary and yet I tried to be brave in the face of it all.

I met my first boyfriend and he was so mysterious. He made my heart beat and my knees weak. He gave me hope and made me feel brave. With him I could do anything. It was the bitter break up after that made me realize I was who I was because of my own beliefs. It wasn’t anything to do with relying on someone else.

That night I knew the average life I was going to have with him was over and the dream was dead. It was time for a change, and my music got me through it. I relied on my anger to fuel me and it wasn’t a healthy period. Thankfully, things changed, but my music was always there, my faithful companion.

Thank you to all the musicians who will never know what they meant to a scared and confused kid.

Hole – Violet Lyrics

And the sky was made of amethyst And all the stars were just like little fish You should learn when to go You should learn how to say noMight last a day, yeah Mine is forever Might last a day, yeah Mine is forever Well they get what they want, and they never want it again Well they get what they want, and they never want it again Go on, take everything, take everything, I want you to Go on, take everything, take everything, I want you to And the sky was all violet I want to give the violent more violets And I’m the one with no soul One above and one below Might last a day, yeah Mine is forever Might last a day, yeah Mine is forever When they get what they want, and they never want it again And they get what they want, and they never want it again Go on, take everything, take everything, I want you to Go on, take everything, take everything, I dare you to I told you from the start just how this would end When I get what I want, then I never want it again Go on take everything, take everything, I want you to Go on take everything, take everything I want you to If I don’t mind you don’t mind Go on take everything, take everything, I want you to Go on take everything, take everything I want you to Go on take everything, take everything, I want you to Go on take everything, take everything, take everything, take everything
5 thoughts on “And the sky was made of amethyst

    • Thanks for the comment. Growing up I just ate up every new band that I could get my hands on and it’s funny how things change as an adult. I still love music, but writing for my character Justice, I have to remember what it was like, and channel that intensity. What is your favourite band?

      • Well currently that is really hard…i listen to so much music new and old. I cant even say i have a favorite. I love the Beetles, Metric, Sia, Gorillaz, the Doors, Santigold, Garbage, Queens of the Stone Age, etc. So as you can see my musical taste is like my taste in movies, strange and eclectic

      • That sounds about right. I’m a fan of those bands as well. I have to say Radiohead is my ultimate favourite band. Something about the way Thom Yorke sings it speaks to my soul.

  1. The Grunge movement came a bit too late for me, but I totally understand where you are coming from. I spent a ton of time listening to Pink Floyd records (yes, records) in my room. It was Elvis Costello that helped me identify my teenaged angst and find my voice.

Leave a Reply

