How soon is now?

In 1984 I first heard The Smiths’ How soon is now? I was five years old at the time and I didn’t really understand the significance, however, years later as a teenager, it blew my mind. The pain and anguish of being misunderstood coupled with teenage anxiety on top of a haunting melody is a powerful force.

My main character Justice is an eighteen year old girl who discovers something very strange about herself and her family. At this point in her life she wants to be heard, seen as an adult, and yet is rather unsure of her future. Like most teenagers she is reliant on her best friend Moira. Moira and Justice tend to cling to each other and are outcasts in their high school.

I remember those days and how often I wish they’d hurry up so I could be an adult. I never forgot those awful feelings I hope I can translate them into my characters. Hours, and hours listening to sad songs that made me feel better knowing someone out there understood.

In my story I have peppered lyrics from various artists throughout. I honestly hope people will recognize them and smile. I’m going to assume due to the age difference in the readers my chosen lyrics will be lost on them and they will wonder why the sentence is ‘awkward’, when really it’s perfectly fine. Perhaps they will think my writing poor as a result and will give me a one star on Goodreads. Sigh. As long as I know it’s there that’s really all that counts.

“How Soon Is Now?”

I am the son
and the heir
of a shyness that is criminally vulgar
I am the son and heir
of nothing in particular

You shut your mouth
how can you say
I go about things the wrong way
I am human and I need to be loved
just like everybody else does

I am the son
and the heir
of a shyness that is criminally vulgar
I am the son and the heir
of nothing in particular

You shut your mouth
how can you say
I go about things the wrong way
I am human and I need to be loved
just like everybody else does

There’s a club if you’d like to go
you could meet somebody who really loves you
so you go, and you stand on your own
and you leave on your own
and you go home, and you cry
and you want to die

When you say it’s gonna happen “now”
well, when exactly do you mean?
see I’ve already waited too long
and all my hope is gone

You shut your mouth
how can you say
I go about things the wrong way
I am human and I need to be loved
just like everybody else does

Leave a Reply

