For a minute there, I lost myself, I lost myself…

I’ve taken a long break from tinkering with my first novel, A Raven’s Touch, and I’m off writing the second one already. I have another editing session with a new editor coming up in September and I think this much needed rest from the story is necessary. When I was writing it I couldn’t think about anything else and I was really too close to the story to be objective. I threw a little fit back a few blog posts ago, but I suppose one is entitled to such a thing every so often. I’m not a fussy person, for most things, but I know I have to be picky when it comes to my story. If I don’t get this right, I can only image the hay day the trolls on Goodreads will have, I mean this is my debut to the publishing world and I want to make a good impression.

The last thing I want is someone coming back to me saying, “What the hell is this garbage, my kid can write better than this, you call yourself a writer? Stop writing immediately and do the world a favour.”

Sigh.

Is it wrong that I expect this? Or it is just a way of life for anyone who puts something into the world? Sure, there will be people who like what I’m doing, but there’s always that ONE person (please let there only be one and not a million) who just hates everything. They hate the cover, the character names, the setting, the prose, the ending, every single aspect of the story sickens them – BUT THEY STILL READ THE WHOLE THING AND WRITE A NASTY REVIEW. Double sigh.

Why do they do it? For the notoriety? For people who nod like sheep and agree with them because they’re terrified not to? Ugh. I don’t get it, but I do fully expect it.

Oh well. I will deal with that when it comes.

 

Karma police, arrest this man
He talks in maths
He buzzes like a fridge
He’s like a detuned radio

Karma police, arrest this girl
Her Hitler hairdo is
Making me feel ill
And we have crashed her party

This is what you get
This is what you get
This is what you get when you mess with us

Karma police
I’ve given all I can
It’s not enough
I’ve given all I can
But we’re still on the payroll

This is what you get
This is what you get
This is what you get when you mess with us

For a minute there, I lost myself, I lost myself
Phew, for a minute there, I lost myself, I lost myself

For a minute there, I lost myself, I lost myself
Phew, for a minute there, I lost myself, I lost myself

2 thoughts on “For a minute there, I lost myself, I lost myself…

  1. lol, how does the saying go? Try to please everyone and you’ll end up pleasing no-one?
    You must have a passionate love for music, so far every post I’ve read’s had a video clip attached.
    I know how you feel. The first comment I got about my first book when I released it 2 weeks ago was that they’d read it & it was sh!t.
    Since I actually personally knew every person who HAD bought my book at that point (at two weeks I’ve just sold the 11th copy – whoopie & sigh at the same time) I knew they were just blowing of steam and hadn’t even bought the book. if someone’s going to criticise me, the least they could do is buy the book, right?
    Don’t be so hard on yourself and try not to let others oppinions get you down. You’ve weaved a whole world out of words, that’s more than most people have ever done. The ones that never have created will always assume they could do better.The ones that have aren’t going to criticise (unless their threatened by your immagination) because they know what it cost you.

Leave a Reply

