Final Word Count: 191, 913

I almost forgot to mention my word count before I submitted my story to my editor. I am rather surprised it got this high. I had three different word counts in Scrivener and then when I copied/pasted my story into Word the final number was 191, 913. Linda Bloodworth word count

 

Provided that my editor cuts down 10,000 words or so, my story is considered an epic length. It’s taken me two years to get to this point. I think I’ve learned a thing or two about writing a story, but I won’t be surprised if this second book takes the same time.

I’m incredibly excited for my second story. I’m already 2,600 words into it. Thing is, I’m not a planner, I’m a “write by the seat of my pants” kind of writer. I have no idea what I’m going to do and that in itself excites me.

The only thing I do know is no one is safe. I am going to take good advice literally. “In writing, you must kill your darlings.” –William Faulkner. This refers to using flowery prose and overusing phrases. What I am going to do is kill my favourite characters. I want the story to convey danger, tension, and uncertainty. I want there to be an element of worry for the reader. Will their favourite survive? Will anyone? Oh, it’s going to be so much fun!

 

 

Leave a Reply

