A Raven’s Touch Sample Paragraphs

I’ve changed my story around, flipped it, ripped it, and finally I’m waiting for my editor to do the same.

When I first started writing my WIP, about two years ago now, I didn’t expect so many changes. How naive. I honestly thought I’d be finished in 6 months from writing the first draft, to revisions, to publishing. HA! Ooh, a big fat laugh is necessary. Two years and counting. I’m sincerely hoping that I can have this ready for June.

Without further ado, let me introduce you to the newest version of my first two paragraphs.

A Raven’s Touch: By Linda Bloodworth

It started two days ago. Every night I go to bed hoping I don’t end up back here. The sound of rushing water catches my attention. I turn to face it and my skin is kissed with tiny droplets of water. I shuffle my bare feet only to be pricked with pine needles. I must be in the Rouge Valley forest; this certainly isn’t my bedroom. I open my eyes to the darkness that surrounds me. What am I doing here in the middle of the night, again?

A streak of pain crackles through my body and my head snaps forward. I let out a scream while my back burns like it’s on fire. A flock of small birds take to the sky causing the leaves to shudder. I hug myself as if I can stop the pain from throbbing. My entire body feels like a fresh wound. With tears in my eyes, I look up to the Heavens for guidance, but I’m met with silence. To my left, little feet hop away through the bush. I can only imagine what I must look like: black long hair strung about my pale face with dark circles as of late. I’d run away from me too.

I’m rather happy with this and that’s saying a lot. Some days I couldn’t stand to look at my work, some days I wanted to burn it all and kick my computer down the stairs. Now, I think it’s a reflection of the hard work and suffering. It’s only fit that my main character wake up in a state of confusion looking like the girl from the Ring screaming in a forest. Sure, why not?

If you’d like to say hello on Facebook, please feel free: https://www.facebook.com/LindaBloodworthWriter

 

 

Leave a Reply

