Hello 2015!

Growing up in the 80’s the year 2000 seemed so far away. Now that it’s 2015, I just can’t comprehend that this year even exists. When I think about 10 years ago, I always think oh, the 90’s, but that’s 20 years ago. Sigh.

Things I like are now considered “retro” and the high school rock songs I grew up with are on an oldie station. I don’t know when time passed me by, but it certainly did and I am coming to grips with it.

I wonder what it means that I’ve written a YA story about two best friends in high school? Hhm…almost mid-life crisis? I don’t think I’m losing it. I have a serious day job, I don’t party or chase young boys, so I think I’m alright. Funny how when older men do this, somehow it’s acceptable?

These days I am either nose deep in editing, reading, watching movies that inspire and or listening to a song on repeat (at least 20 times) to get a certain emotion going. I’d hate for anyone to see my playlist. It ranges from Arcade Fire, to Marilyn Manson, Belle & Sebastian, to the Barber of Seville, to Underworld, I’m just all over the place. I’ve listened to “The Toadies ” by Possum Kingdom for an hour straight and I still don’t get tired of this song. It’s pretty much what inspired my story “A Raven’s Touch” in the first place.

It’s taken two years to get to the point where I’m 80% happy with my WIP and that’s saying a lot. I think, if you’ve been reading this blog, you’ll know that I have been driving myself crazy writing this story to begin with. I know that this is the year I finally will hit publish and get my story to market. This is my life long dream and it’s going to happen, damn it!

4 thoughts on “Hello 2015!

Leave a Reply

