Almost at 20,000 leagues under the sea

Lately, I’ve been working away on A Raven’s Revenge. The experience has been quite different from A Raven’s Touch and I can only assume it’s because I have somewhat of a plan. When I say somewhat, I mean that very loosely, but it’s better than nothing.

A Raven’s Revenge takes Justice, Moira, Tom, and Darien through the various levels of Hell. I did a heck of a lot of research and it’s somewhat overwhelming how many Dante’s Inferno versions there are out there. I also did watch an animated movie based on a video game of the same title, and it was really quite entertaining.

I’m just at 18,350 words at the moment. That’s not bad considering I started seriously in June. I like to think that’s pretty darn good. I’m not one of those writers who churns out a thousand words per sitting. I just can’t. I am lucky enough if I can get out 300 words a session. I find often I’m humming and hawing over what to do next. I had a serious debate to introduce Darien’s sister into the mix. I do love her, as she is a little nuts, and that type of character is hard to resist for any writer. Maybe Seliki has a sibling? Maybe Tom has a bad elf in his family? Who knows what will happen?

The element of the unknown is truly astounding for me. That’s partly what makes writing so difficult. I don’t know where I want to go with this because there are so many opportunities for ANYTHING.

golden

Well, it’s really anyone’s game, but I have to drive this bus somewhere. Oh, mixing metaphors. So much fun.

2 thoughts on “Almost at 20,000 leagues under the sea

  1. 1. I LOVE your picture because that is how I am feeling also.
    2. Honey, I can write out a sentence without wanting to erase it and rewrite it several times I feel good about myself.
    3. Can’t wait to be done with this book so I can sit down and read Raven’s Touch

    • Thank you Lisa. I’m sorry you’re in the same boat, but it’s great to realize that I’m not alone either. The hardest part is committing anything to paper. Right now, I’m just trying to get through my first draft and then go over everything when I edit it down. Don’t worry about how things sound now. You’ll most likely change it a hundred ways anyway.

Leave a Reply

