Coming Soon-ish: New Cover + $0.99 Sale

curious-cat

I’ve been kicking around an idea to give A Raven’s Touch some new life. Even though it’s not even a year old the sales have gone down as I’m trying to work on A Raven’s Revenge. What do I plan on doing?

  1. A New Cover!
  2. PLUS – $0.99 sale (for a limited time only)

I figure this sounds like a good idea. Now, I have to try to figure out two things:

1. Who will do this cover?
2. What the heck should it look like?

I’ve gone through lists of popular YA novels and there are a few categories:
A) Girl with no connection to the story
B) Big bold title letters
C) Cartoon style images
D) Real items as the only image featured
E) Close up of a face (full or half)

I am thinking since A Raven’s Touch is a dark story it should be predominantly black with ONE main feature. Now, whether that is the title and an item it’s hard to say.

Take these covers for example:
red-queenwell-never-be-apartvengenance-roadcinder_cover

I haven’t read any of these my assumptions are just based on the cover.

Red Queen:
This one looks bad add because there’s blood and you can tell it’s going to be a story about a power struggle.

We’ll Never Be Apart:
This looks terrifying. The first thing I thought was, “I hope this is a Hansel and Gretel retelling”, but it’s probably something of a horror story.

Vengeance Road:
This looks like it’s going to be a bad ass story with death, fighting, and sticks to an old fashioned way of delivering the story.

Cinder:
I know this one is a Cinderella story with an updated twist, so that’s not a true guess. However, I do like the aspect of what you see is not what you get. Interesting and simple.

How is a girl to choose? Any suggestions are welcome!

Leave a Reply

