Just keep writing

Writing has always been my salvation. When I’m upset, scared, depressed, writing has always been the one place I can find peace of mind. Throughout my childhood and teenage years, my mother tried very hard to stop me. She claimed the time spent lying down (because that’s how I write) was detrimental to my health. Yes, she was right to a degree. The only problem is that if I don’t write I don’t exercise my demons and having a mental yoke ruins more than just physical health.

I’ve started working on The Time Runner and so far I barely have 10,000 words, just 7, 434 to be exact. Let’s face it, I love a good word count. I’m not sure why I’ve developed Cora as the MC, but she seems interesting. Her parents are dead, classic YA move of course, and she’s been pinned with the task of leading her team and saving the Resistance movement into victory. Again, nothing new here. However, the angst, anxiety, and panic she feels is rather different. I’ve given her the type of panic attacks that I have down to the prickling heat on the back of my neck, and the blacking out part. Let’s see what kind of hero she can be when she has anxiety and an understandable fear. Unlike Katniss, who never really seemed to be afraid, Cora has many moments of self-doubt. I assume this is what people will find relatable, but in all honesty, I’m just writing what I know. Whether people can relate to that is up to them.

Reading reviews of A Raven’s Touch people have commented that the emotions of Justice/Moira are all over the place. Mind you, that’s how I was when I was a teenager. I literally wrote from my experiences. Perhaps I was a strange kid, but I know I was rather apathetic. When something bad happened to people I didn’t like it didn’t bother me. I assumed they deserved it; guess what, they were bad. That criticism is the only one that I will contend with. Everyone reacts to things differently. We all have our own way of grieving, expressing sadness, or any emotion for that matter. Just because it doesn’t work with how you would do so doesn’t make it wrong.

I haven’t written a blog post in a while, but I figured this was as good a time as any.

Leave a Reply

